of your goal reached









Competition Information

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) is proud to present the 2nd annual Academic Giving Competition (AGC). All proceeds go towards FAER's mission to develop the next generation of physician-investigators. Thank you for taking part in this friendly competition and helping secure the future of our specialty with your generous giving!

The information below explains the AGC and the criteria to win. Have fun, and let's make this another competition to remember!

  • Only donations made between the dates & times specified will be included when calculating total amount donated & total number of donors for the AGC. This information is visible directly below the competition name at the top of this page. Times are Central Standard (Chicago). Any gifts made after cut-off will go toward the Event, and not a specific team. Gifts made earlier in 2023 will not be factored in when calculating totals for the competition.
  • Two winners will be selected for the AGC. Winning departments will be determined by:
    • Amount Donated ($): Total dollar amount donated on behalf of the department, including funds from matching gifts.
    • Number of Donors (#): Total number of donors who donated on behalf of the department. Each donor is counted only once per department for the purposes of this winning criteria.
  • Who’s considered a “donor”? Donors are anyone or any entity who notes that their gift is on behalf of a department during the donation process. This includes faculty, alumni, staff, friends and family, or anyone else who makes a donation on behalf of a department.

The total event goal of $250,000 will fund a Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) for an early career anesthesiologist.

Top 15 Donors

View Full Leaderboard


  • James Eisenach October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Baron Chanda October 2023
  • Heather Brosnan October 2023
  • Stephen Collins October 2023 $100.00
  • Anonymous October 2023
  • Rita Guttersen October 2023 $105.00
  • Seyed A. Safavynia October 2023 $262.50
  • Philip Bickler October 2023 $500.00
  • Taras Grosh Go Penn! October 2023 $250.00
  • Michael Puglia October 2023
  • Cynthia Lien October 2023 $10,000.00
  • Deborah Culley Go Team Penn! October 2023 $10,000.00
  • The UAB Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine October 2023 $6,000.00
  • Cynthia Wong October 2023 $5,882.30
  • James Eisenach October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Paloma Toledo October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Deborah Culley October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Danny Muehlschlegel October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Thomas Ebert October 2023 $5,000.00
  • Pamela Flood October 2023 $5,000.00

Recent Activity